top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureRB

Bipolar and Me

Updated: Jan 3, 2018

Quick fixes; How I cope and how you can too.


Music, talking, walking, eating and repeat.


They say time is a healer. I believe it is but so are these things!


Firstly this is personal to me but may help you. I know myself and can recommend the following; the tricky thing is getting into new habits when you are feeling low. I have a certain about of get up and go, sometimes its gotten up and left! The trick is to engage in these processes while your mood is positive.


If I can, I do the following quick and easy fixes.....

Take pride in my appearance, looking good makes me feel good. They call make up war paint for that very reason. If I feel able, I wear lipstick, or a full face of make up, this cheers me up.

Play music; create a mood playlist of your favourite upbeat songs. Youtube is free and sometimes I just play my favourite songs to get myself into a better, more positive mood.


Get outside, breathe in fresh air. Walking is free! Its beneficial to mood, mind and body. Plan a walk, even something simple such as a walk around the town or city centre. You can reward yourself after the walk with a coffee in your favourite coffee shop.


Meet a friend for coffee and a chat. Sometimes this can really take your mind off things and get some social contact, even if its just for 30 minutes.


Do something you enjoy. Whether this is photography, reading, drawing or knitting. I can really recommend mindful colouring. It is really focussed, something that you can lose a few hours in.


Cook something from scratch. Not only is cooking creative, it is a distraction. Eating healthily has no end of benefits, of course this is common knowledge but if you are governed by mood as I am, its very hard to not just get an unhealthy takeaway and crash. Try and invest in cookery books, go to charity shops and pick up one for a £1! You will be proud of yourself for cooking and have something to eat!



Let me know how you get on with the above and if they helped :)

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join our mailing list

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Flickr Icon

© 2017 Mental Wealth Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page